After a period of voting last week, the winners of the 2012 Annual Ebony Harlem Awards were revealed. The Awards ceremony which began in the Spring of 1993 honors outstanding male and female students in various categories ranging from excellence in service to excellence in sports. It began as a way of honoring exceptional African American students in the N.C. State community. Also, an award is given to the African American Student Advisory Council (AASAC) organization of the year, which was chosen by a panel of faculty and staff members. Each winner received a Sankofa Bird, which serves as a reminder the importance of remembering one’s roots in order to progress.

The program was hosted by Mario Terry and Debra Buck. Two selections were provided by the Uninhibited Praise Gospel Choir. The NC State chapter of the NAACP was awarded as the AASAC organization of the year.

Also at the Awards Ceremony the new members of AASAC were introduced to the African American community. Alexis Teasdell will serve as the Chair of AASAC for the 2012-2013 academic year.

A winner at Tuesday’s awards ceremony for Instrumental Music, Jeremy Currence, a junior majoring in Computer Engineering had this to say. “It’s an honor to win and be recognized by my peers and classmates. I hope to be a good influence and continue making good music.”

Also taking home a Sankofa bird for Service, Tova Williams said, “I’m very happy to win the award. It shows my hard work paid off and I’m committed to service.”

The Ebony Harlem Awards is a collaboration between African American Student Affairs, the African American Cultural Center, the Society of Afrikan American Culture, and the African American Heritage Society.

Tuesday’s Ebony Harlem Awards concluded with a reception ceremony in the Sankofa room of Witherspoon Hall during which award recipients and nominees had the opportunity to mingle and congratulate one another.


Drama – Kimberly Green, Jason Cooper

Literary Talent – Alexis Teasdell, CJ Guion

Dance – Alexandria Pitts, John Miller IV

Instrumental Music – Catherine Brewer, Jeremy Currence

Vocal Music – Jazmine Davis, Jamael Harrison

Art – Joelle Purifoy, Travis Gatling

Service – Tova Williams, Alexis Teasdell, Chase Johnson

Leadership – Lauryn Collier, Braxton Jackson

Distinguished Person – Faeban Fulford, Justin Watkins

Nash Achievement Award – Jasmine Brown, Linwood Joyner II

Athletic Award – Latanya Cain, Kwame Boatwright

Design – Lori Guess, Dwayne Martin

Organization of the Year – NC State Chapter of NAACP